- Our Services
- For Families
- For Professionals
- Join the Conversation
- Meet the Children
Nevada Foster and Adoption Guidelines
Thank you for considering becoming a foster parent or adopting from foster care in the state of Nevada.
- Contact Information
The Adoption Exchange
Contact: Jessica Hartwig
- Para información en español
Contacte: The Adoption Exchange
Correo Electrónico: firstname.lastname@example.org
Teléfono: 800-451-2546 ext 300
Things You Should Know
- Foster and Adoption Licensing Requirements
- Costs to Foster and Adopt
- Agency Contact and Orientation Information
- Parent Support Groups
- Information on Nevada's Waiting Children
- Have sufficient income to cover your financial needs
- You must be a legal resident
- You must have a landline phone
- Ability to provide a loving, supportive environment for children
- You must be 21 years of age (for adoption you must also be 10 years older than the child)
- You may be single, married, divorced, or widowed
- Must be of good character (i.e., Record of arrests and convictions may prevent licensing. Please ask us about this.)
If you have a spouse or partner they are also required to participate in the homestudy process and attend all trainings.
Homestudy requirements are as follows:
- Complete application
- References from people who know you well
- Law enforcement, child abuse, and neglect screenings and fingerprint clearances
- Interviews and home visits with a case worker
- Physical examination for applicant and household members
- Discussion on types of children available and applicant’s preferences
If you work with your local county, there is no fee to foster and adopt except $50 per person towards the cost of fingerprint clearances.
If you work with your local county and adopt a child from another state, there may be a fee, but you can talk to the child’s state to see if they will reimburse you.
Private agencies provide adoption licensing services for a fee of $4,200 to $13,000.
If you are brand new to the adoption process, it is highly recommended that you attend The Adoption Exchange’s adoption information class, which is offered the third Wednesday of every month.
Please view list of licensed private placement agencies in Nevada.
- Foster and Adoption Services Through County Agencies
Each county or area has their own orientation schedule so please check with the appropriate county or area for information.
Below is a list of agency contacts:
- Clark County
Department of Family Services
Address: 701K N. Pecos, Las Vegas, NV 89101
- Washoe County
Department of Social Services
Child Care Services
Address: 350 South Center St., Reno, NV 89520
- State of Nevada (all other counties)
Department of Health and Human Services
The Division of Child and Family Services
Contact: Dixie Jeffers
Phone: 775-687-4943, Ext. 233
Address: 1572 E. College Parkway, Suite 16, Carson City, NV 89705
Please view list of parent support groups in Nevada.
As of June 2016, Nevada has 4,275 children in foster care, and 547 of them have a goal of adoptions. Of these children, 287 are boys and 260 are girls. There are 222 children under the age of 5, 173 who are 6–10 years old, 129 who are betwewen 11 and 15 years old, and 23 who are 16–18 years old.