Nevada foster and adoption guidelines
Thank you for considering becoming a foster parent or adopting from foster care in the state of Nevada.
The Adoption Exchange
Contact: Jessica Hartwig
Para información en español:
Contacte: The Adoption Exchange
Correo electrónico: email@example.com
Teléfono: 800-451-2546 ext 300
On this page:
- Foster and adoption licensing requirements
- Costs to foster and adopt
- Agency contact and orientation information
- Post-adoption support services
- Information on Nevada's children
- You must have sufficient income to cover your financial needs.
- You must be able to provide a loving, supportive environment for children.
- You must be 21 years of age (for adoption you must also be 10 years older than the child).
- You may be single, a same-sex couple, married, divorced, or widowed.
- You must be of good character (i.e., record of arrests and convictions may prevent licensing. Please ask about this.)
- You must attend approximately 30 hours of pre-service training.
Read more about qualifications on the Nevada Division of Child and Family Services website.
- Complete application
- References from people who know you well
- Law enforcement, child abuse, and neglect screenings and fingerprint clearances
- Interviews and home visits with a case worker
- Discussion on types of children available and applicant’s preferences
If you have a spouse or partner, they are also required to participate in the home-study process and attend all trainings.
Read more about the home study process and requirements on the Nevada Division of Child and Family Services website or search on the Child Welfare Information Gateway site.
If you work with your local county, there is no fee to foster and adopt except $50 per person towards the cost of fingerprint clearances.
If you work with your local county and adopt a child from another state, there may be a fee, but you can talk to the child’s state to see if they will reimburse you.
Private agencies provide adoption licensing services for a fee of $4,200 to $13,000.
If you are brand new to the adoption process, it is highly recommended that you attend The Adoption Exchange’s foster care adoption orientation webinar.
Agencies – by county
Department of Family Services
Address: 701K N. Pecos, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Washoe County Human Services Agency
Child Care Services
Address: 350 South Center St., Reno, NV 89520
State of Nevada (all other counties)
Department of Health and Human Services
The Division of Child and Family Services
Contact: Dixie Jeffers
Phone: 775-687-4943, Ext. 233
Address: 1572 E. College Parkway, Suite 16, Carson City, NV 89705
You can also search hild Welfare Information Gateway’s list of licensed private placement agencies.
Learn about the support available to families who adopt in your state:
- Primary provider: Division of Child and Family Services, Post Adoption Services
- The Adoption Exchange, Nevada Post-Adoption Services
- Foster and Adoptive Coalition of Nevada
- Foster Kinship
As of June 2016, Nevada has 4,275 children in foster care, and 547 of them have a goal of adoptions. Of these children, 287 are boys and 260 are girls. There are 222 children under the age of 5, 173 who are 6–10 years old, 129 who are between 11 and 15 years old, and 23 who are 16–18 years old.